About the Unit


About The Security Unit

Security Department is as old as the university itself.  This department is saddled with responsibility of maintenance of law and order within the university estate, investigation of cases whenever it appears that law and order have broken down, and taking any further action in tightening security as occasions demand.

Since the inception of security department in 1962 up till October 2016, eight (8) Chief Security Officers (CSO) had meritoriously served this department.

Late Mr. OMOLAYO Caleb served this department between 1966 and 1982.  Before his appointment as Head Security Department, he was a Police Officer.

Mr. Kolapo Gabriel Aderemi served this Department between 1982 and 1987.  He was employed as an Administrative Staff, but because of his experience in prison service, he was promoted to serve as Head Security Department.

Captain OBAYOMI Patrick (Rtd) served the Department between 1987 and 1994.  He was employed as Chief Security Officer.  Before his appointment as CSO, he was a Captain in the Nigerian Army.

Mr. ODEWUMI Rufus Abidoye headed the Department between 1994 and 2001.  He was employed in 1967 as a Gateman and rose through ranks to the post of Chief Security Officer.  During his tenure in office as the CSO, he introduced Local Armed Guards in 1997 and many of them were selected for special training to patrol the entire university estate and confront all forms of crime.  They were then named “Cracker Team” but now called OAU Safety Corps.

Mr. FALOPE Samson Olugbenga served between 2001 and 2003 in the capacity of Acting Chief Security Officer.  He rose through ranks to the post of Ag.CSO.  He was a professional Fire Prevention/Control Officer.

Late Mr. Johnson Durojaiye ADEFISAYO served this Department between 2003 and 2008.  He also rose through ranks to the post of Acting Chief Security Officer.

Mr. Adeyinka Musibau SALAMI served the Department between 2008 and 2010.  He voluntarily retired from Department of State Services (DSS) before joining this Department as a substantive Chief Security Officer.  During his tenure, he rebranded some units in the Department to ensure effective security operations.  He initiated current security uniform.

Mr. Paul Bamidele OGIDI succeeded Mr. Salami as the Ag.CSO.  During the tenure of Mr. Salami, he was the second in command.  He served the Department between 2010 and 2016.  Before his appointment into the services of Obafemi Awolowo University, he was also in the Department of State Services (DSS). Mr. Ogidi is a professional Security Officer to the core.  He has a brilliant mind and brought new creative ideas to the system.  He also rebranded some units in the Department.

From January 2017 till date, Mr. Babatunde OYATOKUN is the Acting Chief Security Officer.  He rose through the ranks to his present position.  Since his appointment, the Department has experienced tremendous improvement.  He is a leader that is passionate on staff welfare.  He introduced Department Welfare Scheme which many Security Officers have benefitted from.

All the past leaders of the Department have also contributed their quota to the development of this Department.